

Anna H. Jones – African American Women's Suffrage Leader

What a blessing it was to share in the dedication of the marker commemorating Anna H. Jones on October 9. Information was shared about the struggle for women to gain the right to vote and the struggle of our voting rights today. Together we will continue to fight for voting rights for all!

The National Votes for Women Trail, a project of the National Collaborative for Women's History Sites has collaborated with the William G. Pomeroy foundation to install roadside historical markers in every state commemorating events and

leaders of the women's suffrage movement.

Second Baptist Church was chosen for the marker's site as its congregation graciously hosted the 1906 convention of the Missouri State Federation of Colored Women's Clubs featuring an address by Ms. Anna H. Jones, its President.

Ms. Jones was selected for this recognition for her leadership in organizations advocating for racial equity and women's suffrage. The right to vote, she argued was a necessary component for the success of women's advocacy for justice and equal participation in our democracy.

The local chapters of the League of Women Voters and American Association of University Women are valued advocates for the Votes for Women Trail. They have led recognitions of the 1920 passage of the 19th Amendment guaranteeing American women the right to vote.



Cynthia Holmes (VFWT), Ann Calvert (LWVKC President), Debra McArthur (Parkville), Sue Shineman (Independence), Carol Cowles (Kansas City), and Rev. and Mrs. Joe Callahan, Jr. (Second Baptist Church)