Note added 6/21/2020: These corrections, agreed upon at the May 2, 2020, State Assembly Meeting, have been made to this document.

- On page 1 in Standing Rules after the word "and" add "are"
- On page 2, "Recognition of Board Members" should be "Recognition of Outgoing Board Members"
- On page 3, in "Nominating Committee" change "2019-2020." to "2019-2021:"
- Throughout the document add "Groves" to the Kirkwood-Webster branch name

AAUW MISSOURI STATE ASSEMBLY MEETING MINUTES SATURDAY, MAY 4, 2019 COLUMBIA, MISSOURI

Call to Order:

The AAUW Missouri State Meeting was called to order by President Kay Meyer at 9:15 a.m. at the Holiday Inn Executive Center, Columbia, Missouri.

Kay welcomed and thanked all in attendance, the AAUW Missouri Board for their service and support given her during her first term, and a special thanks to Marsha Koch, Program VP for organizing today's conference. Kay also gave recognition and welcomed Carolyn Dwire, from AAUW Kansas.

Mission Statement:

Kay led members in reciting the AAUW Mission Statement.

Quorum: Marianne Fues, Governance

As of February 1, 2019, there are 651 Missouri members. We have 12 Missouri branches represented here today, with a total of 54 voting members. Quorum is 5% of membership, or 31.9, and we have a quorum.

Standing Rules: Linda Berube, Parliamentarian:

Standing Rules have been distributed and are in the registration packet for all to read. Linda moved the Standing Rules be accepted, motion carried.

Appointment of Readers:

Kay appointed Lynne Roney and Marsha Koch as readers of today's minutes.

Approval of Minutes of 2018 State Assembly: Doris Nistler, Secretary

Minutes of the 2018 AAUW State Assembly meeting were distributed. No correction, Jan Scott moved minutes of 2018 AAUW State Assembly be approved, seconded, Motion carried.

Finance Officer Report: Patt Braley

Patt presented the AAUW MO State budget for 2019-2020, which has a correction on item NCCWSL, and should read \$600 instead of \$700. The correction changes total to \$13,300, which is the projected budget for 2019-2020. In response to question on board travel, Patt explained board members are from various state branches and are reimbursed for mileage to

three board meetings usually held at a central location. There being no further questions, the 2019-2020 Budget was approved as presented.

Presentation of Awards: Marsha Koch, VP Programs:

Many hours of work are put in by branches and they are recognized by receiving Star and Galaxy Awards. Congratulations to the following Star Award Branches:

Page 2, AAUW MO State Assembly minutes 5-4-19

5 Star Branch Awardee: Canton

7 Star Branch Awardees: Boonville

Jefferson City

8 Star Branch Awardee: Parkville

10 Star Branch Awardees:

Ballwin-Chesterfield Kansas City

Columbia Kirkwood-Webster Groves

Ferguson-Florissant St. Charles Independence St. Louis

Galaxy Award:

We have two branches that receive the Galaxy Award this year for their programs:

Ballwin-Chesterfield – Expanding Your Horizons in Mathematics and Science

Independence – Scholarships for High School and Middle School Girls

Honorable mention is given to Kirkwood-Webster Groves branch which is being recognized for their continued work in outreach programs to the community.

Outstanding Member Award: Sue Shineman, Membership VP

The Outstanding Member Award was given to Marianne Fues for her outstanding work and achievements on behalf of AAUW, including her present position as AAUW MO Board Governance Chair.

Recognition of AAUW Outgoing Board Members: Kay Meyer

Kay recognized and thanked the following outgoing Board members, Marsha Koch, Program VP, Doris Nistler, secretary, Sue Shineman, Membership VP and Pat Shores, Public Policy co-chair.

AAUW Fund Awards: Ellen Johnson, AAUW Fund Chair

AAUW Fund Honors and Awards recognize branches and members who have contributed to AAUW Funds. Total of all fund contributions by AAUW Missouri members in 2018 is \$36,888.25. The State of Missouri "per capita" giving is \$56.49.

Honored were Top Ten Branches in Total Giving, Top Ten Branches in "per capita" giving and Missouri State AAUW Member Named Gift Honorees.

Also honored, Century Club Members who have contributed \$100 or more in a calendar year to AAUW Funds, and Century Club Plus members who have contributed \$250 or more.

Page 3, AAUW MO State Assembly Minutes 5-4-19

All Awardees are listed and recognized in a special handout booklet provided by Ellen Johnson.

Legacy Circle Awards: Sue Barley and Yvonne Morrison

The Legacy Circle is how AAUW recognizes members and individuals who have provided for AAUW in their estate plan. This is an opportunity for members to contribute to AAUW as a legacy to women and girls. In the conference packet is a list of Missouri Legacy Circle Members. Those present at today's meeting are: Linda Berube, Patt Braley, Shirley Breeze, Karen Francis, Nancy Hutchins, Pam Kulp, Diane Ludwig, Pat Shores, Karen Smith and Kim Churches, AAUW CEO.

Nominating Committee: Diane Ludwig, Past President AAUW MO

Diane, as Chair of the Nominating Committee, submitted the following nominees as AAUW MO Board officers for 2019-2021. President Elect, Sue Shineman, Program VP, Lynne Roney, and Secretary, Marsha Koch.

No further nominees were presented, and Kay Meyer called for approval of the slate by the assembly. Proposed officers approved and elected.

Installation of Nominated Officers: Kay Meyer

Sue Shineman – President Elect, Independence Branch VP Program – Lynne Roney, Kirkwood-Webster Groves Branch Secretary – Marsha Koch, Kirkwood-Webster Groves Branch

Adjournment:

Kay Meyer adjourned the meeting at 10:10 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Doris Nistler, Secretary